Help Us Make Our $25,000 Goal!

Part of leaving the country means leaving behind lots of people and places and things I love. Although Dan Savage coined his “campsite rule” with relationships in mind (in fact, with a very specific type of relationship in mind), I think the concept of leaving a person or a place “in better shape than you found it,” is relevant to most circumstances in our lives. I hope that I have left the people I’ve known and the places I’ve been in better shape after encountering them.
 
One place in particular that I hope has been improved by my having been involved with it is the organization I work for, The Literacy Center. I would be thrilled to know that when I leave Flagstaff, I will be walking away from a healthier, stronger organization than the one that hired me.
 
To that end, check out this post about The Literacy Center’s efforts to earn $25,000 by the end of this Fiscal Year. If you believe in what this organization is doing for adults with low literacy levels, please do what you can to help support them. Even reblogging this post or distributing it via your social media channels can make a big difference!

Thank you!

think literacy

The Literacy Center is trying to make $25,000 by the end of the Fiscal Year (June 30th). If you appreciate the content on this blog or the services we provide, consider making a donation to help us reach our goal. You can donate online via: http://www.gofundme.com/33pd5s to help us start the new year strong!

This year, TLC has helped more learners study for more hours than ever before; by the end of the fiscal year our learners will exceed 5,000 hours of study through the various services we are able to offer thanks to your generosity. Also, by fiscal year end, we will have over 100 volunteers serving over 200 learners.

Additionally, our Partnership for Literacy Rehabilitation is now offering two to four literacy classes per week in the Coconino County Jail which helps reduce inmate recidivism, improving our community overall. (Learn more about PLR here, here and in…

View original post 242 more words

Leave a Reply

