Chicken Fried…

It’s funny how it’s the little things in life/ that mean the most…

…like a having a friend who you can message any time of the day or night with a tally of how many times you’ve heard Chicken Fried playing through the wall you share with your neighbor (a neighbor who is, superficially at least, everything my friend would be looking for in a man were she not so blissfully married–attractive, listens to country music, rides a fast green Japanese motorcycle, has a cat, puts his cat in a sweater…).

Add to the pile of little “Chicken Fried” things, a willingness to unhesitatingly and without resentment or regret, invite you to share her home when yours is falling apart, an intimate knowledge of your early life and long standing relationships, openness, trust, love, and at some point you realize that the person you’re describing is so much more than a friend.

The Stumpy Giraffe, first entered my life 15 years ago, and in that time she has transcended the friendship barrier to become my sister. When I think about the most important people in my life–people I want to share all my best moments with–she makes the short list every time.

Our relationship in meme form...

Our relationship in meme form…

One of the hardest things about being in Korea will be not being able to call her up on a whim for lunch, or spending a Saturday wandering around random stores with her, or going to her house and just hanging out doing nothing. (Yeah, we’re really that exciting…) I will miss the way she makes me laugh with her unique combination of wit, goofiness, and keen observation skills (or sometimes with her limited patience with her kids and overly harsh judgment of strangers).

But, no matter how far I go or where she ends up in this world, I know that we will always be there for each other. We have a bond that is stronger than distance, stronger than time, and in that way we are like sisters too. Whenever she needs me, I’ll be there for her, just as she’s been there for me. If she’s the Stumpy Giraffe, I’m the Nerdy Giraffe, and we long-necked spotted freaks have to stick together!

Having each other's back.

Having each other’s back.

In the words of someone I love and admire, “I want nothing but the best things for her in life whatever that may be. She is my sister and my friend and I will miss her like crazy.”

Thankfully, we still have Facebook, Pinterest, WordPress, Blogger, Skype, Gmail, and international postal service!

Leave a Reply

